Alex Kormann of the Star Tribune in Minneapolis won first place in the 2022 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division A Feature Photo category.

APSE contest winners will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.            

Brian Cassella of the Chicago Tribune was second, and Andrew Mills of NJ Advance Media took third. 

Top 10 slideshow in order:          

Cesare will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                    

Sports editors in Division A submitted 40 entries in Feature Photos.  Entries were judged by Associated Press Staff Photographer John Bazemore and AP Photo Manager Mike Stewart. The contest is open to APSE members.                                                                                                                                                                                

  1. Alex Kormann, Star Tribune (Minneapolis)
  2. Brian Cassella, Chicago Tribune
  3. Andrew Mills, NJ Advance Media (Newark)
  4. Jabin Botsford, Washington Post
  5. Jack Gruber, USA TODAY Sports
  6. Rob Schumacher, The Arizona Republic
  7. Michael Laughlin, South Florida Sun Sentinel
  8. Will Lester, Southern California News Group (Anaheim)
  9. Hiroko Masuike, The New York Times
  10. Al Diaz, Miami Herald

Feature Photo winners: B | C | D