Albert Cesare of The Cincinnati Enquirer won first place in the 2022 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division B Feature Photo category.

APSE contest winners will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.            

Robert Willett of The News & Observer (Raleigh, N.C.) finished second, and Adam Cairns of The Columbus Dispatch took third. 

Top 10 slideshow in order:             

Cesare will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                    

Sports editors in Division B submitted 48 entries in Feature Photos.  Entries were judged by Associated Press Staff Photographer John Bazemore and AP Photo Manager Mike Stewart. The contest is open to APSE members.                                                                                                                                                                                

  1. Albert Cesare, The Cincinnati Enquirer
  2. Robert Willett, The News & Observer (Raleigh, N.C.)
  3. Adam Cairns, The Columbus Dispatch
  4. L.E. Baskow, Las Vegas Review-Journal
  5. Brianna Paciorka, Knoxville News Sentinel
  6. Sarah Phipps, The Oklahoman (Oklahoma City)
  7. Bryan Terry, The Oklahoman (Oklahoma City)
  8. Andrew Nelles, The Tennessean (Nashville)
  9. George Walker IV, The Tennessean (Nashville) 
  10. Matt Stone, Courier Journal (Louisville, Ky.)