Red Smith Award

The Red Smith Award is given annually by the Associated Press Sports Editors to a writer or editor who has made major contributions to sports journalism.

The award is regarded as the highest sports journalism honor in the country. Recipients are enshrined at the APSE Red Smith Hall of Fame, located at the Indiana University National Sports Journalism Center in downtown Indianapolis.

The award is named after Red Smith, whose sportswriting career spanned five decades. He was the award’s first winner in 1981.

Former APSE President Todd M. Adams maintains a comprehensive web site featuring profiles on past Red Smith Award winners.

2020s2010s • 2000s • 1990s • 1980s


Year Recipient Publication
2023 Claire Smith Philadelphia Bulletin
2022 Leon Carter The Athletic
2021 Sally Jenkins The Washington Post
2020 Christine Brennan USA Today


Year Recipient Publication
2019 Sandy Rosenbush Sports Journalism Institute
2018 Terry Taylor Associated Press
2017 Henry Freeman USA Today
2016 Leigh Montville Boston Globe / Sports Illustrated
2015 Bob Ryan Boston Globe
2014 Wendell Smith Chicago Herald-American
2013 Dan Jenkins Sports Illustrated
2012 Frank Deford Sports Illustrated
2011 Bill Millsaps Richmond Times-Dispatch
2010 Mitch Albom Detroit Free Press


Year Recipient Publication
2009 Vince Doria ESPN
2008 W.C. Heinz New York Sun
2007 Van McKenzie Orlando Sentinel
2006 Joe McGuff Kansas City Star
2005 Mary Garber Winston-Salem Journal
2004 Jimmy Cannon New York City columnist
2003 George Solomon Washington Post
2002 Dick Schaap ESPN / “The Sports Reporters”
2001 John Steadman Baltimore Sun
2000 Jerry Izenberg Newark Star-Ledger


Year Recipient Publication
1999 Bud Collins Boston Globe
1998 Sam Lacy Baltimore Afro-American
1997 Jerome Holtzman Chicago Tribune
1996 Bill Dwyre Los Angeles Times
1995 Richard Sandler Newsday
1994 Dave Anderson New York Times
1993 Tom McEwen Tampa Tribune
1992 Ed Storin Miami Herald
1991 Dave Kindred National Sports Daily
1990 Dave Smith Dallas Morning News


Year Recipient Publication
1989 Edwin Pope Miami Herald
1988 Furman Bisher The Atlanta Journal
1987 Will Grimsley Associated Press
1986 Si Burick Dayton Daily News
1985 Blackie Sherrod Dallas Morning News
1984 Fred Russell Nashville Banner
1983 Shirley Povich Washington Post
1982 Jim Murray Los Angeles Times
1981 Red Smith New York Times