Bill Plaschke of the Los Angeles Times won first place in the 2022 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division A Columns category.

APSE contest winners and top-10 finishers will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.       

Steve Politi of NJ Advance Media was second, and Mark Lazerus of The Athletic and Dan Wetzel of Yahoo Sports tied for third.   

Plaschke will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                                     

Sports editors in Division A submitted 59 entries in column writing, with four columns per entry. 

Contest chair Naila-Jean Meyers and fellow APSE officers Jorge Rojas, Dan Spears and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest results: Sections, digital, video | Writing and photography

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., and remote judges around the country selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

  1. Bill Plaschke, Los Angeles Times 1, 2, 3, 4,  48 points (2 first-place votes)
  2. Steve Politi, NJ Advance Media 1, 2, 3, 4, 38 points (2 first-place votes)
  3. (tie) Mark Lazerus, The Athletic 1, 2, 3, 4, 37 points

3. (tie) Dan Wetzel, Yahoo Sports 1, 2, 3, 4, 37 points

5. Nancy Armour, USA Today 1, 2, 3, 4,  36 points

6. Kevin Sherrington, The Dallas Morning News 1, 2, 3, 4, 32 points (1 first-place vote)

7. (tie) Christine Brennan, USA TODAY Sports 1, 2, 3, 4, 29 points

7. (tie) Candace Buckner, The Washington Post 1, 2, 3, 4, 29 points (1 first-place vote)

9. Kurt Streeter, The New York Times 1, 2, 3, 4, 23 points

10. Dave Hyde, South Florida Sun Sentinel 1, 2, 3, 4, 21 points

APSE Contest Winners: B Columns | C Columns | D Columns | Investigative