Gregg Doyel of the IndyStar won first place in the 2022 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division B Columns category.

APSE contest winners and top-10 finishers will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.       

Mike Finger of the San Antonio Express-News was second, and Sam McDowell of The Kansas City Star was third.  

Doyel will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                                     

Sports editors in Division B submitted 47 entries in column writing, with four columns per entry. 

Contest chair Naila-Jean Meyers and fellow APSE officers Jorge Rojas, Dan Spears and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest results: Sections, digital, video | Writing and photography

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., and remote judges around the country selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

  1. Gregg Doyel, Indy Star 1 2 3 4, 47 points (3 first-place votes)
  2. Mike Finger, San Antonio Express-News 1 2 3 4, 44 points 
  3. Sam McDowell, The Kansas City Star 1 2 3 4, 42 points (1 first-place vote)
  4. (tie) Mac Engel, Fort Worth Star-Telegram 1 2 3 4, 39 points

4. (tie) Benjamin Hochman, St. Louis Post-Dispatch 1 2 3 4, 39 points

6. (tie) Jenni Carlson, The Oklahoman 1 2 3 4, 31 points

6. (tie) Luke DeCock, The News & Observer 1 2 3 4, 31 points (1 first-place vote)

8. Hal Habib, Palm Beach Post 1 2 3 4, 26 points (1 first-place vote)

9. Scott Fowler, Charlotte Observer 1 2 3 4, 18 points

10. Mike Preston, The Baltimore Sun 1234, 13 points