March 27, 2018

By Robert Gagliardi, APSE Third Vice President

The staff at The Courier-Journal in Louisville, Ky., won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2017 contest in Multimedia in the 75,000-175,000 circulation category.

The Courier-Journal staffers won for their work titled You be the Ref. The newspaper will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2018 APSE Summer Conference at the Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University June 17-20. The second- through fifth-place winners will receive frameable certificates.

The Courier-Journal edged staffers from The Seattle Times, which placed second for their work on Seattle Mariners pitcher Edwin Diaz titled THE WHIP, THE DECEIT, THE HEAT How Edwin Diaz hits triple digits.

The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair John Bednarowski and fellow APSE officers Jeff Rosen, Todd Adams and Robert Gagliardi numbered each entry. Preliminary judges selected a top five, and from there another group of judges ranked the finalists in order from 1 to 5 separately on a secret ballot. Entries were given five points for a first-place vote, four for second, etc. The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

Multimedia includes interactive graphics, audio, slideshows or combinations thereof, or anything else that falls under the broad description of multimedia other than simple videos. Entries were judged, foremost, on the strength of storytelling. Visual and auditory quality also was considered.

The top five is listed below with links to writers’ Twitter pages, APSE member websites and winning entries.

  1. Staff, The Courier-Journal, 26 points, 3 first-place votes

           You be the Ref


  1. Staff, The Seattle Times, 21 points, 1 first-place vote   

          THE WHIP, THE DECEIT, THE HEAT How Edwin Diaz hits triple digits


  1. Elizabeth Bloom, Andrew Rush and Zack Tanner, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 19 points,                   1 first-place vote

       Mr. Smith’s Funhouse


  1. Sean Quinton, Evan Webeck, Thomas Wilburn, The Seattle Times, 14 points, 1 first-place vote

        Kelsey Plum: Destined for greatness


  1. Christopher Kamrani, Christopher Cherrington, Kevin Winters Morriss, The Salt Lake Tribune, 10 points

     The Last of the Enforcers