Derrick Goold, Jeff Gordon and Benjamin Hochman won first place in the 2021 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division B Event Coverage category for their comprehensive reporting on the Cardinals’ playoff-clinching winning streak. Event Coverage is a new category in the APSE contest. 

They will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2022 APSE Summer Conference banquet at The Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis on June 18. Click here to register for the conference.               

Gregg Doyel, Nathan Brown, Dana Hunsinger Benbow, Clark Wade and Scott Horner of the IndyStar finished second, and Bill Rabinowitz, Joey Kaufman, Rob Oller, Lori Schmidt and Brian White of The Columbus Dispatch took third.

Sports editors in Division B submitted 29 entries in Event Coverage.

Contest chair Jorge Rojas and fellow APSE officers Gary Potosky, Naila-Jean Meyers and Ed Reed prepared the entries.  The contest is open to APSE members.

Click here to join.

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10 on a separate ballot. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

The final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

1. St. Louis Post-Dispatch – Derrick Goold, Jeff Gordon, Benjamin Hochman 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 52 points (2 first-place votes)

2. IndyStar (Indianapolis)  – Gregg Doyel, Nathan Brown, Dana Hunsinger Benbow, Clark Wade, Scott Horner 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 45 points

3. The Columbus (Ohio) Dispatch – Bill Rabinowitz, Joey Kaufman, Rob Oller, Lori Schmidt, Brian White 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 44 points (1 first-place vote)

4. News & Observer (Raleigh, N.C.) – C.L. Brown, Luke DeCock and staff 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 41 points (3 first-place votes)

5. The Buffalo News – Vic Carucci, Jay Skurski, Jason Wolf, Maki Becker, James P. McCoy 1, 2, 3, 4, 5,  40 points

6. Lexington Herald-Leader – John Clay, Daniel Desrochers, Jeremy Chisenhall, Ben Roberts, Mark Story 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 27 points

7. Las Vegas Review-Journal – Adam Hill, Vincent Bonsignore, Sam Gordon, Ed Graney 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 26 points

8. The Charlotte Observer – Jonathan M. Alexander, Ellis Williams, Scott Fowler, Melissa Oyler and Alexandra Andrejev 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 23 points

9. San Antonio Express-News – Mike Finger and Greg Luca 1, 2, 3, 4, 5,  20 points

10. Orlando Sentinel – Jason Beede, Mike Bianchi, Matt Murschel, Edgar Thompson 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 12 points