Tom Noie of South Bend Tribune won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2019 contest in game story for the C Division.

His story about Notre Dame’s come-from-behind win against UConn in the Women’s Final Four finished just ahead of Shad Powers of the Desert Sun. Kellis Robinett of the Wichita Eagle placed third.

Sports editors in the C Division submitted 55 game story entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair Lisa Wilson and fellow APSE officers Todd M. Adams, Gary Potosky and Dan Spears prepared the entries.

In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in St. Petersburg, Fla., and off site around the country, selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10 on an individual ballot. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion.

The winner and final rankings were determined by tallying the ballots.

Noie will be presented with a first-place plaque at the 2020 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis on June 27. The second- through 10th-place winners will receive certificates.

Game stories are a single article from a live event, with emphasis on reader interest, and quality of writing and thoroughness of reporting.

The top 10, with links to the winning entries:

1. Tom Noie, South Bend Tribune, 43 points, three first-place votes

2. Shad Powers, The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, Calif.), 42 points

3. Kellis Robinett, The Wichita Eagle, 39 points, one first-place vote

4. Donnie Collins, The Scranton Times-Tribune, 35 points, two first-place votes

T-5. Ben Portnoy, The Dispatch (Columbus, Miss.), 34 points

T-5. Brad Elliott Schlossman, Grand Forks Herald, 34 points

7. Conor Foley, The Scranton Times-Tribune, 32 points

8. Scott Petrak, The Chronicle-Telegram (Elyria, Ohio), 30 points

9. Rachel Roberts, Idaho Statesman (Boise), 26 points

10. Mike Forman, Victoria Advocate, 15 points