Juliet Macur, Carla Correa, Maggie Astor, Larry Buchanan and Weiyi Cai of The New York Times won first place in the 2021 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division A Event Coverage category for their comprehensive reporting on American gymnast Sunisa Lee’s all-around gold medal at the Tokyo Olympics. Event Coverage is a new category in the APSE contest. 

They will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2022 APSE Summer Conference banquet at The Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis on June 18. Click here to register for the conference.  

The Washington Post’s staff entry finished second, and Mike Jensen, Marcus Hayes and Ed Barkowitz of The Philadelphia Inquirer took third.                                                                                                

Sports editors in Division A submitted 28 Event Coverage entries. 

Contest chair Jorge Rojas and fellow APSE officers Gary Potosky, Naila-Jean Meyers and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10 on a separate ballot. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

The final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

1. The New York Times — Juliet Macur, Carla Correa, Maggie Astor, Larry Buchanan and Weiyi Cai 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 51 points (2 first-place votes)
2. The Washington Post — Staff 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 45 points (2 first-place votes)
3. The Philadelphia Inquirer — Mike Jensen, Marcus Hayes, Ed Barkowitz 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 44 points
4. USA Today Sports — Christine Brennan, Chris Bumbaca, Josh Peter, Tom Schad, Brent Schrotenboer 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 42 points
5. Los Angeles Times — Jorge Castillo, Bill Plaschke, Dylan Hernández, Steve Henson, Bill Shaikin 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 41 points (2 first-place votes)
6. The San Francisco Chronicle — John Shea, Ann Killion, Scott Ostler, Ron Kroichick, Matt Kawahara 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 32 points
7. Star Tribune (Minneapolis) — Rachel Blount, Jim Souhan, Zoë Jackson, James Walsh, Michael Rand 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 24 points
8. Boston Globe — Chad Finn, Peter Abraham, Dan Shaughnessy, Amin Touri 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 23 points
9. The Baltimore Sun — Jonas Shaffer, Childs Walker, Ryan McFadden, Mike Preston, C.J. Doon 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 16 points
10.  Milwaukee Journal Sentinel — Jim Owczarski, Ben Steele, Lori Nickel, Bill Glauber, Ricardo Torres 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 12 points