Joshua L. Jones of the Athens Banner-Herald won first place in the 2022 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division D Action Photo category.

APSE contest winners will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.

Dylan Slagle of Carroll County Times in Maryland finished second, and Mickey Welsh of the Montgomery Advertiser took third. 

Top 10 slideshow:   

Jones will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                    

Sports editors in Division D submitted 34 entries in Action Photos.  Entries were judged by Associated Press Staff Photographer John Bazemore and AP Photo Manager Mike Stewart. The top 10 is listed below.  

Contest results: Sections, digital, video | Writing and photography                                                                                                                                                                    

  1. Joshua L. Jones, Athens Banner-Herald
  2. Dylan Slagle, Carroll County Times
  3. Mickey Welsh, Montgomery Advertiser
  4. Jake Crandall, Montgomery Advertiser
  5. Darin Oswald, Idaho Statesman
  6. Sarah Miller, Idaho Statesman
  7. Brandon Vallance, Santa Cruz Sentinel
  8. Mike Darnay, Mon Valley Independent
  9. Chris Day, The Jackson (Tenn.) Sun
  10. Annie Rice, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal