Mike Karas of the Daily Record of Rockaway, N.J., won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2019 contest for feature photo in the D Division.

Karas will be presented with his first-place plaque at the 2020 APSE Summer Conference Banquet on June 27 at The Alexander hotel in Indianapolis.

Mike Karas’ winning photo

Hillary Tan of the Columbia Missourian finished second.

Contest chair Lisa Wilson and fellow APSE officers Todd M. Adams, Gary Potosky and Dan Spears prepared the entries. Sports editors in the D Division entered 29 photos in the category. Click here to join and enter the contest for 2020.

In February, Associated Press photographers selected a top 10. The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive certificates.

Judging in the feature photo category was based quality of photo.

The top 10 is listed below with links to the winning entries.

1. Mike Karas, Daily Record (Rockaway, N.J.)
2. Hillary Tan, Columbia Missourian
3. David Yeazell, The Florence Morning News
4. Josh Galemore, Casper Star-Tribune (photo #1)
5. Michael Cummo, Wyoming Tribune Eagle (Cheyenne)
6. Zack Wajsgras, The Daily Progress (Charlottesville, Va.)
7. Artie Walker Jr., Aiken (S.C.) Standard
8. Kyle Dawson, Aiken (S.C.) Standard
9. Joshua L. Jones, Athens Banner-Herald
10. Joe Ullrich, News and Tribune (Jeffersonville, Ind.)