Adam Cairns of The Columbus (Ohio) Dispatch won first place in the 2022 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division B Action Photo category.

APSE contest winners will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.  

Erik Verduzco of the Las Vegas Review-Journal finished second, and Ethan Hyman of The News & Observer (Raleigh, N.C.) took third. 

Top 10 slideshow:                 

Cairns will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                    

Sports editors in Division B submitted 45 entries in Action Photos. Entries were judged by Associated Press Staff Photographer John Bazemore and AP Photo Manager Mike Stewart. The contest is open to APSE members. The top 10 is listed below.

  1. Adam Cairns, The Columbus Dispatch
  2. Erik Verduzco, Las Vegas Review-Journal
  3. Ethan Hyman, The News & Observer (Raleigh, N.C.)
  4. Rebecca Benson, The Toledo Blade
  5. Danielle Parhizkaran, The Record (Bergen, N.J.)
  6. Saul Young, Knoxville News Sentinel
  7. Harry Scull Jr., The Buffalo News
  8. Jenna Watson, IndyStar
  9. Andrew Nelles , The Tennessean (Nashville)
  10. Joe Hermitt, PennLive (Harrisburg, Pa.)