LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. – Here are the top 10 results for explanatory writing in the under 30,000 circulation category of the Associated Press Sports Editors 2016 contest (winners listed in alphabetical order):
Top 10
Erik Bacharach, Opelilka-Auburn News
Nathan Baird, Journal-Courier (Lafayette, Ind.)
John Bohenkamp, The Hawk Eye (Iowa)
Tommy Deas, The Tuscaloosa News
Steve Gamel, Denton (Texas) Record-Chronicle
Kevin Lytle, Fort Collins Coloradoan
Joel Reichenberger, Steamboat (Colo.) Pilot & Today
Brad Elliott Schlossman, Grand Forks (N.D.) Herald
Matt L. Stephens, Fort Collins Coloradoan
Tony Tsoukalas, Anniston (Ala.) Star