Wynston Wilcox of The Commercial Appeal in Memphis, Tenn., won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2022 contest in the Division C Breaking News category for his coverage of Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association’s decision to vacate the wins and championships from James Wiseman’s two seasons at Memphis East because of recruiting violations.

APSE contest winners will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.      

Theo Lawson of The Spokesman-Review in Spokane, Wash., was second and Zach Hammack of the Lincoln Journal Star was third. 

Wilcox will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                                     

Sports editors in Division C submitted 52 Breaking News entries. 

Contest chair Naila-Jean Meyers and fellow APSE officers Jorge Rojas, Dan Spears and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest results: Sections, digital, video | Writing and photography

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., and remote judges around the country selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

The final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

  1. Wynston Wilcox, The Commercial Appeal (Memphis, Tenn.), 52 points (3 first-place votes)
  2. Theo Lawson, The Spokesman-Review (Spokane, Wash.), 46 points (1 first-place vote)
  3. Zach Hammack, Lincoln Journal Star, 41 points
  4.  Bill Wagner, Capital Gazette (Annapolis. Md.), 37 points (1 first-place vote) 
  5. Michael Niziolek, The Roanoke Times, 35 points
  6. Alex Martin, The News-Press (Fort Myers, Fla.), 33 points
  7. Andrew Wegley, Amie Just, Chris Dunker, Lincoln Journal Star, 28 points
  8. Andrew John, The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, Calif.), 24 points (1 first-place vote) 

9. (tie) Conor Foley, The Scranton Times-Tribune, 17 points

9. (tie) Greg Hardwig, Naples Daily News, 17 points