Tyler Tjomsland of The Spokesman-Review won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2020 contest in Category C Feature Photo.

Tjomsland will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2021 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on Aug. 18.

Danielle Parhizkaran of the Daily Record finished second and Josh Boucher of The State was third.

A Feature Photo entry is judged on the quality of the photo. Representatives from the Associated Press photo department serve as judges.

Sports editors in Category C submitted 34 photos. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest chair and First Vice President Gary Potosky and fellow APSE officers — President Lisa Wilson, Second Vice President Jorge Rojas and Third Vice President Steve Hemphill prepared the entries.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 9th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 9 is listed below:

1. Tyler Tjomsland, The Spokesman-Review

2. Danielle Parhizkaran, Daily Record

3. Josh Boucher, The State

4. Michael Caterina, South Bend Tribune

5. Chris Pedota, Daily Record

6. Sean McKeag, The Citizens’ Voice

7. Christopher Dolan, The Scranton Times-Tribune

8. Ariel Cobbert, The Commercial Appeal

9. Matt Dayhoff, Peoria Journal Star