Kent Porter of The Press Democrat won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2020 contest in Category D Action Photo.

Porter will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2021 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on Aug. 18.

Mickey Welsh of the Montgomery Advertiser finished second and Gary Cosby Jr. of The Tuscaloosa News was third.

An Action Photo entry is judged on the quality of the photo. Representatives from the Associated Press photo department serve as judges.

Sports editors in Category D submitted 27 photos. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest chair and First Vice President Gary Potosky and fellow APSE officers — President Lisa Wilson, Second Vice President Jorge Rojas and Third Vice President Steve Hemphill prepared the entries.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below:

1. Kent Porter, The Press Democrat

2. Mickey Welsh, Montgomery Advertiser

3. Gary Cosby Jr., The Tuscaloosa News

4. Teddy Couch, Gadsden Times

5. Stephanie Amador, The Jackson Sun

6. Christopher Chung, The Press Democrat

7. Hannah Saad, The Tuscaloosa News

8. Cecil Copeland, Marietta Daily Journal

9. Helen Comer, The Daily News Journal

10. Justin Rex, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal