Kurt Streeter of The New York Times won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2020 contest in Category A Columns.

Streeter will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2021 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on Aug. 18.

Mitch Albom of the Detroit Free Press finished second and Sally Jenkins of The Washington Post was third.

A Columns entry is judged based on style, writing quality, originality and local appeal.

Sports editors in Category A submitted 62 entries. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest chair and First Vice President Gary Potosky and fellow APSE officers President Lisa Wilson, Second Vice President Jorge Rojas and Third Vice President Steve Hemphill prepared the entries.

Because this year’s in-person APSE Winter Conference was canceled due to the pandemic, all judging was remote during three weeks in February. Each category had a set of judges examine all entries, choose a Top 10 as a group (in some cases, the ranking includes fewer or more than 10 entries), and each of those judges ranked the finalists individually. A second set of judges in each category then also ranked those finalists.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below with links to the winning entries, and voting results.

1. Kurt Streeter, The New York Times 1, 2, 3, 4, 65 points, 3 first-place votes

2. Mitch Albom, Detroit Free Press 1, 2, 3, 4, 48 points, 1 first-place vote

3. Sally Jenkins, The Washington Post 1, 2, 3, 4, 47 points, 2 first-place votes

4. Bill Plaschke, Los Angeles Times 1, 2, 3, 4, 46 points

5. Jesse Washington, The Undefeated 1, 2, 3, 4, 36 points

6. Ann Killion, The San Francisco Chronicle 1, 2, 3, 4, 33 points

T7. Steve Politi, NJ Advance Media 1, 2, 3, 4, 31 points

T7. Nicole Auerbach, The Athletic 1, 2, 3, 4, 31 points

9. Sam Mellinger, The Kansas City Star 1, 2, 3, 4, 27 points, 1 first-place vote

10. Shalise Manza Young, Yahoo! Sports, 1, 2, 3, 4, 21 points