Joe Rondone of The Commercial Appeal won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2020 contest in Categories C and D Video.

Rondone will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2021 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on Aug. 18.

Tracy Glantz of The State finished second. Brent Axe, Lauren Long, N. Scott Trimble and Christa Lemczak of the Post-Standard placed third.

A Video entry is judged, foremost, on the strength of storytelling. Visual and auditory quality will be considered.

Sports editors in Categories C and D submitted 20 videos. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest chair and First Vice President Gary Potosky and fellow APSE officers President Lisa Wilson, Second Vice President Jorge Rojas and Third Vice President Steve Hemphill prepared the entries.

Because this year’s in-person APSE Winter Conference was canceled due to the pandemic, all judging was remote during three weeks in February. Each category had a set of judges examine all entries, choose a Top 10 as a group (in some cases, the ranking includes fewer or more than 10 entries), and each of those judges ranked the finalists individually. A second set of judges in each category then also ranked those finalists.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 11th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 11 is listed below with links to the winning entries, and voting results.

1. Joe Rondone, The Commercial Appeal, 57 points, 4 first-place votes

2. Tracy Glantz, The State, 51 points

3. Brent Axe, Lauren Long, N. Scott Trimble, Christa Lemczak, Post-Standard, 45 points

4. Brent Axe, N. Scott Trimble, Post-Standard, 44 points

T5. Ralph Walter, Jesse Tinsley, Kristi Burns, The Spokesman-Review, 36 points, 1 first-place vote

T5. Anthony Zilis, The Champaign News-Gazette, 36 points, 1 first-place vote

7. Kevin R. Wexler, Daily Record, 35 points

T8. Sean McKeag, Staff, The Citizens’ Voice, 30 points

T8. Leroy Boyer, David McKeown, Republican Herald, 30 points

10. Eric Schultz, The Citizens’ Voice, 20 points

11. Jake Adams, The Sentinel, 12 points