Eric Kolenich and Shelby Lum of the Richmond Times-Dispatch won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2019 contest for multimedia in the B Division.

Kolenich and Lum will be presented with first-place plaques at the 2020 APSE Summer Conference Banquet on June 27 at The Alexander hotel in Indianapolis.

Contest chair Lisa Wilson and fellow APSE officers Todd M. Adams, Gary Potosky and Dan Spears prepared the entries. Sports editors in the D Division submitted 18 entries in the category. 

Click here to join and enter the contest for 2020.

In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in St. Petersburg, Fla., and off-site around the country, selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 5 separately on a secret ballot. Entries were given 5 points for a first-place vote, 4 points for second and so on down to one point for a 5th-place vote. The final 5 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-5 in the same fashion.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 5th-place writers will receive frameable certificates.

Multimedia entries included interactive graphics, audio, slideshows or anything else that falls under the broad description of multimedia other than simple videos. Entries were judged, foremost, on the strength of storytelling. Visual and auditory quality were considered.

A list of the Top 5:

  1. Eric Kolenich and Shelby Lum, Richmond Times-Dispatch, 27 points
  2. Nate Rau, Mike Organ, Ayrika Whitney and Ben Goad, The Tennessean (Nashville, Tenn.), 24 points
  3. Tyler Riffle, Ralph Walter, Madison McCord, The Spokesman-Review (Spokane, Wash.), 19 points
  4. Michael Phillips, Richmond Times-Dispatch, 11 points
  5. Brent Briggeman, The Gazette (Colorado Springs), 9 points