Jacqueline Dormer of the Republican Herald won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2020 contest in Category C Action Photo.

Dormer will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2021 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on Aug. 18.

Travis Bell of The State finished second and Dan Coyro of the Santa Cruz Sentinel was third.

An Action Photo entry is judged on the quality of the photo. Representatives from the Associated Press photo department serve as judges.

Sports editors in Category C submitted 36 photos. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest chair and First Vice President Gary Potosky and fellow APSE officers — President Lisa Wilson, Second Vice President Jorge Rojas and Third Vice President Steve Hemphill prepared the entries.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below:

1. Jacqueline Dormer, Republican Herald

2. Travis Bell, The State

3. Dan Coyro, Santa Cruz Sentinel

4. Christopher Dolan, The Scranton Times-Tribune

5. Darin Oswold, Idaho Statesman

6. Andrea Melendez, The News-Press

7. Dennis Nett, Syracuse.com/The Post-Standard

8. Mitsu Yasukawa, Daily Record

9. Tyler Tjomsland, The Spokesman-Review

10. Chuck Meyers, Altoona Mirror