Leon Carter gets a hug from Garry Howard at the 2022 Red Smith Award luncheon in Indianapolis.

The nomination window for APSE’s Red Smith Award has been extended to March 3.

The Red Smith Award is awarded annually to a person who has made “major contributions to sports journalism” and is considered the highest honor in sports journalism. Congratulations again to 2022 honoree Leon Carter.

The nomination process (and eventual voting) is open to Red Smith Award winners, APSE past presidents, APSE national officers, 10-year APSE members and alumni members who belonged to APSE for at least 15 years. If you are receiving this email, you are on the list of eligible voters.

How to nominate

Nominees are welcomed (and encouraged!).  All nominations should be submitted via the form at this link. The form is simple, easy to use and quick to fill out. Please use it to help assure that no nomination is lost in an inbox. Again, please click here to submit a nomination. I’d love to see a long list this year.

The nomination window closes March 3 and will not be extended. When making a nomination, please include biographical and other information advocating for the person in the designated field.

The five people who finished behind Leon in last year’s voting automatically are nominated for this year’s award. They are Bill Plaschke, Tom Boswell, Mark Whicker, Dan Shaughnessy and Bill Lyon. I have biographical and sports journalism influence information on file for all five of these nominees, but you are welcome to submit an updated version at the link, if you’d like.

Here is the complete list of 2023 nominees so far, in alphabetical order:

Michael Anastasi

Tom Boswell

Tom Callahan

Paul Finebaum

Garry D. Howard

Tony Kornheiser

Bill Lyon

Bill Plaschke

Dan Shaughnessy

Loren Tate

Matt Vita

Mark Whicker

Terry Pluto