Parrish Alford of the Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal won first place in the 2022 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division D Short Feature category for “Fifty years later people remember, discuss Ole Miss-LSU ‘clock’ game.”

APSE contest winners will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.       

Ron Counts of the Idaho Statesman finished second, and Brad Locke of the Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal took third.                         

Alford will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                                                                                                         

Sports editors in Division D submitted 61 Short Feature entries, which were 1,150 words or less. 

Contest chair Naila-Jean Meyers and fellow APSE officers Jorge Rojas, Dan Spears and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members.  

Contest results: Sections, digital, video | Writing and photography

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., and remote judges around the country selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

  1. Parrish Alford, Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal 49 points (2 first-place votes
  2. Ron Counts, Idaho Statesman 44 points
  3. Brad Locke, Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal 42 points (1 first-place vote)
  4. Chase Goodbread, The Tuscaloosa News 39 points (1 first-place vote)
  5. (tie) Jim Henry, Tallahassee Democrat 34 points (1 first-place vote)

5. (tie) Dennis Knight, Savannah Morning News 34 points

7. Cecil Joyce, The Daily News Journal 30 points

8. Emily Adams, The Greenville News 28 points (1 first-place vote)

9. David Eckert, Hattiesburg American 19 points

10. Matt Tait, The Lawrence Journal-World 11 points