Ohio State’s application to become an Associated Press Sports Editors student chapter has been approved by the executive committee.

Ohio State will be APSE’s 12th student chapter.

Dr. Nicole Kraft, Associate Professor of Journalism Practice, will be the chapter adviser. The officers are president Megan Husslein, vice president Jayla VanHorn and treasurer Lauryn Luderman.

As the new school year begins, APSE’s goal is to continue to expand the ranks of our student chapters and student members and connect more with the next generation of sports journalists. Among the benefits of membership in our organization are networking with sports journalism leaders from across the country, our college student contest and scholarships and regular virtual programming.

Lisa Wilson of The Athletic, APSE’s career advancement chair, will be working with student chapters to plan events, including a popular panel on how to get an internship.

If you are interested in starting a student chapter at your school or in becoming a student member of APSE, please contact Lisa at lisabellwilson46@gmail.com or APSE president Naila-Jean Meyers at njmeyers@startribune.com.

You can find information on how to start a student chapter here.