Juliet Macur of The New York Times won first place in the 2022 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division A Long Feature category for “The Keeper.”

APSE contest winners will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.        

Tom Junod and Paula Lavigne of ESPN.com  finished second, and Michael Rosenberg of Sports Illustrated was third.                         

Macur will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                               

Sports editors in Division A submitted 65 Long Feature entries. 

Contest chair Naila-Jean Meyers and fellow APSE officers Jorge Rojas, Dan Spears and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members.  

Contest results: Sections, digital, video | Writing and photography

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., and remote judges around the country selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

  1. Juliet Macur, The New York Times 50 points (3 first-place votes)
  2. Tom Junod, Paula Lavigne, ESPN.com 46 points (2 first-place votes)
  3. Michael Rosenberg, Sports Illustrated 44 points (1 first-place vote)
  4. Chip Scoggins, Star Tribune 37 points
  5. Connor Letourneau, The San Francisco Chronicle 34 points
  6. Jeff Seidel, Detroit Free Press 33 points
  7. (tie) Jorge Castillo, Los Angeles Times 23 points

7. (tie) Sean Keeler, The Denver Post 23 points

9. Kevin Armstrong, NJ Advance Media 22 points

10. Jeff Eisenberg, Yahoo Sports 18 points