Jonas Pope, Parth Prakash Upadhyaya, Patrick Obley and Chapel Fowler of the Durham Herald-Sun won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2020 contest in Category D Projects.

They will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2021 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on Aug. 18.

Jake Adams, Mallory Merda and Michael Heaton of The Sentinel finished second and Jeremiah Johnke of the Wyoming Tribune Eagle was third.

A Projects entry sheds new light on personalities and issues in the news, including trends and original ideas. It is pre-planned content that is conceived and executed as a larger body of work. It is not ongoing coverage of a news event over a period of time where a number of stories are compiled for an entry.

Sports editors in Category D submitted 8 entries. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest chair and First Vice President Gary Potosky and fellow APSE officers President Lisa Wilson, Second Vice President Jorge Rojas and Third Vice President Steve Hemphill prepared the entries.

Because this year’s in-person APSE Winter Conference was canceled due to the pandemic, all judging was remote during three weeks in February. Each category had a set of judges examine all entries, choose a Top 10 as a group (in some cases, the ranking includes fewer or more than 10 entries), and each of those judges ranked the finalists individually. A second set of judges in each category then also ranked those finalists.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through fifth-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 5 is listed below with links to the winning entries, and voting results.

1. Jonas Pope, Parth Prakash Upadhyaya, Patrick Obley, Chapel Fowler, The Herald-Sun 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 26 points, 3 first-place votes

2. Jake Adams, Mallory Merda, Michael Heaton, The Sentinel 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 20 points, 1 first-place vote

3. Jeremiah Johnke, Wyoming Tribune Eagle 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 16 points, 1 first-place vote

4. Randy Whitehouse, Wil Kramlich, Tony Blasi, Nathan Fournier, Lee Horton, Sun Journal 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 15 points, 1 first-place vote

5. Matt Schuckman, Quincy Herald-Whig 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 13 points