Dana Hunsinger Benbow of the IndyStar won first place in the 2022 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division B Long Feature category.

APSE contest winners will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.        

Courtney Tanner of The Salt Lake Tribune finished second, and Dirk Chatelain of the Omaha World-Herald took third.                         

Hunsinger Benbow will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                               

Sports editors in Division B submitted 56 Long Feature entries. 

Contest chair Naila-Jean Meyers and fellow APSE officers Jorge Rojas, Dan Spears and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members.  

Contest results: Sections, digital, video | Writing and photography

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., and remote judges around the country selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

  1. Dana Hunsinger Benbow, IndyStar  51 points, (3 first-place votes)
  2. Courtney Tanner, The Salt Lake Tribune 47 points
  3. Dirk Chatelain, Omaha World-Herald 38 points (1 first-place vote)
  4. Jason Wolf, The Buffalo News, 35 points (1 first-place vote)
  5. Andrew Carter, The News & Observer (Raleigh, N.C.), 33 points
  6. Jim Polzin, Wisconsin State Journal (Madison), 32 points
  7. Jared Peck, Lexington Herald-Leader 28 points
  8. Alex Zietlow, The Charlotte Observer, 23 points
  9. Vahe Gregorian, The Kansas City Star, 22 points (1 first-place vote)
  10. Jon Blau, The Post and Courier (Charleston, S.C.), 21 points