Cayla Nimmo of the Casper Star-Tribune won first place in the 2021 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division D Action Photos category.

Nimmo will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2022 APSE Summer Conference banquet at The Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis on June 18. Click here to register for the conference.       

Rhianna Gelhart of the Wyoming Tribune Eagle finished second, and Gary Cosby Jr. of The Tuscaloosa News took third.                                                                                               

Sports editors in Division D submitted 22 entries in Action Photos. 

Contest chair Jorge Rojas and fellow APSE officers Gary Potosky, Naila-Jean Meyers and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

In February, photographers from The Associated Press met and handled judging for the photo portion of the APSE contest. They chose a top 10 and then ranked them 1-10.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.


1. Cayla Nimmo, Casper Star-Tribune 

2. Rhianna Gelhart, Wyoming Tribune Eagle (Cheyenne)

3. Gary Cosby Jr., The Tuscaloosa News

4. Jake Crandall, Montgomery Advertiser

5. Mathew Kirby, Muddy River Sports (Quincy, Ill.)

6. Helen Comer, The Daily News Journal (Murfreesboro, Tenn.)

7. Jeff Helsel, Mon Valley Independent (Monessen, Pa.)

8. Mickey Welsh, Montgomery Advertiser

9.  Scott Chancey, Florence (S.C) Morning News

10. Andy Rhinehart, (Polk County, N.C.)