Jose Carlos Fajardo of Bay Area News Group won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2020 contest in Category B Action Photo.

Fajardo will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2021 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on Aug. 18.

Kale Wilk of the Times of Northwest Indiana finished second and K.C. Alfred of the San Diego Union-Tribune was third.

An Action Photo entry is judged on the quality of the photo. Representatives from the Associated Press photo department serve as judges.

Sports editors in Category B submitted 37 photos. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest chair and First Vice President Gary Potosky and fellow APSE officers — President Lisa Wilson, Second Vice President Jorge Rojas and Third Vice President Steve Hemphill prepared the entries.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below:

1. Jose Carlos Fajardo, Bay Area News Group

2. Kale Wilk, The Times of Northwest Indiana

3. K.C. Alfred, The San Diego Union-Tribune

4. Michael Clevenger, Courier Journal

5. Kareem Elgazzar, The Cincinnati Enquirer

6. Jeremy Wadsworth, The Toledo Blade

7. Calvin Mattheis, Knoxville News Sentinel

8. Benjamin Hager, Las Vegas Review-Journal

9. Sarah Phipps, The Oklahoman

10. Sean Simmers, PennLive/The Harrisburg Patriot-News