Amie Just of the Lincoln Journal Star won first place in the 2022 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division C Explanatory Writing category for her article on how Nebraska prepared for its football game in Ireland. 

APSE contest winners will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.        

Larry Bohannan of The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, Calif.) and Augusta Stone of The State (Columbia, S.C.) tied for second.  

Just will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                               

Sports editors in Division C submitted 35 entries in Explanatory. 

Contest chair Naila-Jean Meyers and fellow APSE officers Jorge Rojas, Dan Spears and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest results: Sections, digital, video | Writing and photography

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., and remote judges around the country selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

Explanatory stories include reporting on trends, issues, and original ideas that sheds new light on issues and personalities in the news. They go beyond the “yesterday” of the breaking news story.

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

1. Amie Just, Lincoln Journal Star, 54 points (4 first-place votes) 

2. (tie) Larry Bohannan, The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, Calif.), 41 points

2. (tie) Augusta Stone, The State (Columbia, S.C.), 41 points (2 first-place votes) 

4. Dave Eminian, Peoria Journal Star, 34 points

5. Scott Richey, The Champaign News-Gazette, 33 points

6. (tie) Dan DeLuca, Naples Daily News, 31 points

6.(tie)  Ben Portnoy, The State (Columbia, S.C.), 31 points

8. Alex Martin, The News-Press (Ft. Myers, Fla.), 26 points

9. Alex Murphy, The Commercial Dispatch (Columbus, Miss.), 22 points

10. Nathan Fournier, Sun Journal (Lewiston, Maine) 17 points