Travis Heying of the Wichita Eagle won first place in the 2021 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division C Feature Photos category.

Heying will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2022 APSE Summer Conference banquet at The Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis on June 18. Click here to register for the conference.         

Woody Marshall of the News & Record finished second, and Darin Oswald of the Idaho Statesman took third.                                                                                               

Sports editors in Division C submitted 30 entries in Feature Photos. 

Contest chair Jorge Rojas and fellow APSE officers Gary Potosky, Naila-Jean Meyers and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members.

Click here to join.

In February, photographers from The Associated Press met and handled judging for the photo portion of the APSE contest. They chose a top 10 and then ranked them 1-10.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The ranked top 10, with links to the photos, is listed below.

1. Travis Heying, The Wichita Eagle

2. Woody Marshall, News & Record (Greensboro, N.C.)

3. Darin Oswald, Idaho Statesman (Boise)

4. Corey Perrine, The Florida Times-Union (Jacksonville)

5. Alicia Devine, Tallahassee Democrat 

6. Andy Abeyta, The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, Calif.)

7. Jason Malmont, The Carlisle (Pa.) Sentinel

8. Landon Bost, Naples Daily News

9. Jay Calderon, The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, Calif.)

10. Meredith Perri, Republican (Springfield, Mass.)