Brian Burnsed, Priya Desai, Jim Butts, Alex Hampl and Jessica Keller of Sports Illustrated won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2020 contest in Category A Video.

They will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2021 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on Aug. 18.

Rick Maese and Jorge Ribas of The Washington Post finished second and Clay Yeager of was third.

A Video entry is judged, foremost, on the strength of storytelling. Visual and auditory quality will be considered.

Sports editors in Category A submitted 34 videos. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest chair and First Vice President Gary Potosky and fellow APSE officers President Lisa Wilson, Second Vice President Jorge Rojas and Third Vice President Steve Hemphill prepared the entries.

Because this year’s in-person APSE Winter Conference was canceled due to the pandemic, all judging was remote during three weeks in February. Each category had a set of judges examine all entries, choose a Top 10 as a group (in some cases, the ranking includes fewer or more than 10 entries), and each of those judges ranked the finalists individually. A second set of judges in each category then also ranked those finalists.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below with links to the winning entries, and voting results.

1. Brian Burnsed, Priya Desai, Jim Butts, Jessica Keller and Alex Hampl, Sports Illustrated, 58 points, 2 first-place votes

2. Rick Maese and Jorge Ribas, The Washington Post, 55 points, 3 first-place votes

3. Clay Yeager,, 50 points, 1 first-place vote

T4. Greg Horedeman, Dwayne Bray, Lois Nam and staff, The Undefeated, 49 points

T4. Noah Throop, Bedel Saget and Tayla Minsberg, The New York Times, 49 points, 1 first-place vote

6. Chad Leathers, Tony Stolfa, Tyler Mager, Zachary Purcell, Mark Bader and staff, FloSports, 33 points

7. Alan Springer, Ryan Dornbusch, Keri Barron Sarah Crennan, Johnny Ludden, Coby Toland, Yahoo Sports, 31 points

8. Tyger Williams, The Philadelphia Inquirer, 28 points

T9. Jason Armond and Mark Potts, Los Angeles Times, 20 points

T9. Sean Dolan, Alex Hampl, Steve Cannella and Ryan Hunt, Sports Illustrated, 19 points