By Jeff Rosen
APSE President
The Kansas City Star
Kelli Stacy of the University of Oklahoma is the winner of this year’s second annual APSE Student Contest for outstanding sports journalism.
Stacy, editor in chief at The Oklahoma Daily student newspaper, will receive a first-place plaque and recognition at APSE’s annual Summer Conference, which this year takes place in Nashville June 17-20.
Kyle Melnick of the University of Maryland is this year’s runner up. Georgia’s Emily Giambalvo, who won the contest in 2017, took third, and Alec Lewis of Missouri and George Stoia III of Oklahoma tied for fourth. The list of top 10 entries is included below.
The contest was open to all APSE student members and members of any APSE university or college student chapters. Entries were accepted from students who were enrolled at a college or university during the contest period (June 1, 2017, through May 10, 2018).
The single contest category evaluated by APSE’s panel of five judges was Portfolio.
The portfolio included five elements the student had published during the contest period: (a) a feature story, (b) an enterprise story, (c) a breaking news story, (d) a multimedia or video item (not to exceed 30 minutes), and (e) a wild-card entry … something from the above categories, or something else.
College students or advisers wishing to start a student chapter, or who have questions about student membership, may contact APSE Secretary and Treasurer Bill Eichenberger at
1. Kelli Stacy, Oklahoma
2. Kyle Melnick, Maryland
3. Emily Giambalvo, Georgia
4. Alec Lewis, Missouri
TIE. George Stoia III, Oklahoma
6. Terrin Waack, Alabama
7. Wilson Alexander, Georgia
8. Nick Kelly, Missouri
9. Joe Buettner, Oklahoma
10. Peter Baugh, Missouri