George Stoia, sports editor of The OU Daily at the University of
Oklahoma, is the winner of the third annual APSE Student Contest for
outstanding sports journalism.

Stoia, who tied for fourth in the contest last year, received four of
six first-place votes from a panel of APSE members who served as
judges this year. Stoia’s portfolio of four stories and a multimedia
submission received 63 of a possible 66 points. He will receive a
plaque, as well as recognition during the annual APSE Summer Conference in Atlanta.

Nick Kelly and Peter Baugh finished as runner-up and third place; both
attend the University of Missouri.

The contest is open to all APSE student members, and members of any
APSE student chapter at any college or university. Annual dues for
APSE student membership are only $25. To join, go to this link:

Entries must come from students who have been enrolled at a college or
university during the contest period of June 1, 2018-May 10, 2019,
including graduate students.

Each portfolio contained five pieces of content: a feature story, an
enterprise story, a breaking news story, a multimedia or video item
(not to exceed 30 minutes) and a wild-card entry, from any style of
writing or production.

1. George Stoia, University of Oklahoma
2. Nick Kelly, University of Missouri
3. Peter Baugh, University of Missouri
4. Bennett Durando, University of Missouri
5. Hallie Hart, Oklahoma State University
6. Eli Lederman, University of Missouri
7. Andy Kosta, University of Maryland
8. James Crabtree-Hanigan, University of Maryland
9. Christina Long, University of Missouri
10. Anthony Poisal, University of Ohio
11. Peter Nakos, University of Ohio