Mykal McEldowney of the IndyStar won first place in the 2021 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division B Feature Photos category.

McEldowney will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2022 APSE Summer Conference banquet at The Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis on June 18. Click here to register for the conference.         

Silas Walker of the Lexington Herald-Leader finished second, and Scott Schild of | The Post-Standard took third.                                                                                               

Sports editors in Division B submitted 54 entries in Feature Photos. 

Contest chair Jorge Rojas and fellow APSE officers Gary Potosky, Naila-Jean Meyers and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

In February, photographers from The Associated Press met and handled judging for the photo portion of the APSE contest. They chose a top 10 and then ranked them 1-10.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The ranked top 10, with links to the photos, is listed below.

1. Mykal McEldowney, IndyStar (Indianapolis)

2. Silas Walker, Lexington Herald-Leader

3. Scott Schild, | The Post-Standard

4. Pat McDonogh, Courier Journal (Louisville, Ky.)

5. Christopher Dolan, The Scranton Times-Tribune

6. Leah Hogsten, The Salt Lake Tribune

7. Sam Owens, San Antonio Express-News

8. Melissa Rodriguez, The Charlotte Observer

9. Stephen M. Dowell, Orlando Sentinel

10. Kale Wilk, Times of Northwest Indiana (Munster)