Bob Hohler of The Boston Globe won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2022 contest in the Division A Breaking News category for his coverage of the investigation into the 2019 shooting of former Red Sox star David Ortiz.

APSE contest winners will be honored at the 2023 APSE Summer Conference banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on July 12. Click here to register for the conference, which begins on July 9 and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of APSE.     

Ron Kroichick of The San Francisco Chronicle was second, and Mark Maske, Liz Clarke and Nicki Jhabvala of The Washington Post were third.  

Hohler will receive a plaque. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.                                                                                                     

Sports editors in Division A submitted 70 Breaking News entries. 

Contest chair Naila-Jean Meyers and fellow APSE officers Jorge Rojas, Dan Spears and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest results: Sections, digital, video | Writing and photography

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., and remote judges around the country selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

The final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

  1. Bob Hohler, The Boston Globe, 48 points (1 first-place vote)
  2. Ron Kroichick, The San Francisco Chronicle, 45 points (1 first-place vote)

3. Mark Maske, Liz Clarke, Nicki Jhabvala, The Washington Post 38 points (1 first-place vote)

4. (tie) Gary Gramling and Alex Prewitt, Sports Illustrated 37 points (1 first-place vote)

4. (tie) Jenny Vrentas, The New York Times, 37 points (2 first-place votes)

6. Brent Schrotenboer, USA TODAY Sports 33 points

7. Paul Tenorio and Sam Stejskal, The Athletic, 30 points
8. Michael Crowley and Jonathan Abrams, The New York Times, 28 points

9. Jordan Bianchi, The Athletic, 19 points

10. Christine Brennan, USA TODAY Sports, 15 points

Breaking News winners: B | C | D