By Tommy Deas, APSE Third Vice President

 The New York Times team took first place in Multimedia in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2014 contest in Category A, the category for newspapers with the largest circulation and websites with the most unique monthly visitors.

The New York Times will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2015 APSE banquet. The banquet and awards dinner concludes the APSE Conference June 24-27 at The Westgate Hotel in San Diego, Calif.

The winning entry, an interactive, visual look at elements of the Winter Olympics, garnered 29 points, edging out the runner-up entry from The Denver Post, which got 28 points. The team from Newsday took third place. APSE members in Category A submitted a total of 43 Multimedia entries.

The top 10 is listed below with links to each entry.

The contest is open to APSE members. Go to this link to join.

Top 10

  1. Mike Bostock, Alexandra Garcia, Joe Ward, George Knowles, Bedel Saget, Catherine Spangler, Mika Gröndahl, Wilson Andrews, Larry Buchanan, Alicia DeSantis, Nancy Donaldson, Hannah Fairfield, Jon Huang, Bill Pennington, Archie Tse, Shan Carter, Jennifer Daniel, Josh Keller, Jim Luttrell, Justin Sablich and staff, The New York Times, 29 points, 2 first-place votes




How Mikaela Shiffrin Won the Slalom

Fourth: What it’s like to just miss an Olympic medal.

  1. AAron Ontiveroz and Mahala Gaylord, The Denver Post, 28 points, 1 first-place vote


  1. Jeffrey Basinger, Robert Cassidy, Mark La Monica and Arnold Miller, Newsday, 19 points

From Paramount to Pacquiao, the rise of boxer Chris Algieri

  1. (tie) ESPN staff,, 16 points

Anatomy of a pitch

  1. (tie) Erin Caughey and Bill Schulz, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, 16 points

Death in the Ring | Watchdog Report

  1. (tie) Sean Leahy, Dan Shaughnessy, Luke Knox, Joe Moore, Jose Esteban and Russell Goldenberg, The Boston Globe, 16 points

Being Bill Belichick: Choose your own Patriots roster

  1. Martin Rogers, USA TODAY Sports, 15 points

Bryan Stow: Heart of a Giant

  1. (tie)  Austin American-Statesman staff, Austin American Statesman, 9 points


  1. (tie) Matt Scalici and Wesley Sinor,, 9 points

5-Star Super Show: SEC cornerback prospect Maurice Smitherman backs up his hype

5-Star Super Show: Auburn QB commit Tyler Queen has a particular set of skills

5-Star Super Show: Toying around with speedy RB Keith Mixon

5-Star Super Show: Where Alabama, Auburn stand with state’s best 2016 prospects

5-Star Super Show: Auburn, Alabama commits up for Player of the Year

  1. Clark Wade, Zak Keefer and Brent Drinkut, Indianapolis Star, 8 points

For Indiana School for the Deaf, football ‘makes us feel equal’

 (Tommy Deas is executive sports editor of The Tuscaloosa News. Contact him at or 205-722-0224.)