Friday, Feb. 20, 2009
Contact: Jenni Carlson, AWSM president

Linda Robertson has been selected as the 2009 Mary Garber Pioneer Award winner by the Association for Women in Sports Media.

Robertson has been at The Miami Herald since 1983 and is one of the most recognizable sports columnists in the country. Also the paper’s longtime Olympics beat writer, she has won numerous awards for her features and her columns.

A former AWSM president, Robertson received the prestigious Knight-Wallace Fellowship to attend the University of Michigan during the 2006-07 academic year.

"Linda has not only been a pioneer in sports media but also a symbol of excellence," AWSM president Jenni Carlson said. "We are so thrilled to add her name to the distinguished roll call of Mary Garber Pioneer Award winners."

The Mary Garber Pioneer Award annually recognizes those who have paved the way and served as role models for women in sports media. The award has been given every year since 1999 to those who have distinguished themselves in the field while reflecting and advancing the values and mission of AWSM.

The honor was renamed the Mary Garber Pioneer Award in 2006 in recognition of one of the industry’s original pioneers.

Robertson will be honored during the Mary Garber Pioneer Award winner brunch, held annually during AWSM’s national convention. This year’s convention will be held May 22-24 in Philadelphia with the award brunch scheduled for May 24.

For more information about the Mary Garber Pioneer Award, the annual convention or the Association for Women in Sports Media, go to