The selection process for the 2013 Red Smith award will kick off Jan. 21.

Eligible voters include past presidents, previous Red Smith winners, national officers, active members who have belonged to APSE for at least 10 years and alumni members who belonged to APSE for at least 15 years.

Each news organization is limited to a single vote. If there are several members eligible at a given organization, the senior editor will vote, just as he or she does now for national office. Past presidents and Red Smith winners retain their vote and are not included in the limit of one per organization.

Award nominations may be made by any member eligible to vote for the award as well as region chairs.

The Red Smith award is given annually to a person who has made major contributions to sports journalism. Frank Deford was the 2012 winner. As the five top vote-getters from last year, Henry Freeman, Dan Jenkins, Bob Ryan, George Vecsey and Mark Whicker will automatically be on the ballot for 2013.

Here are the milestones for the 2013 award process:

• Jan. 21 – Nominations open. Eligible voters and region chairs will receive an email seeking nominations. Nominations should be sent to Bob Yates ( and should include a brief biography of the candidate.
• Feb. 18 – Nominations close.
• Feb. 25 – Eligible voters receive an email ballot.
• March 11 – Deadline for ballots to be returned.
• March 14 – 2013 Red Smith winner announced.

Here is a list of eligible voters, not including past presidents or Red Smith award winners. If you think you have been included or omitted by mistake, please contact APSE Executive Director Jack Berninger at by Jan. 10.


Gene Abell, Lexington Herald-Leader 
Gerry Ahern, USA TODAY Sports Media Group
Dave Allen, Marin Independent Journal
Dave Ammenheuser, Nashville Tennessean 
Carmine Angioli, Staten Island Advance
Kevin Aprile, Elyria Chronicle-Telegram
Tom Arenberg, The Birmingham News
Paul Arnett, Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Chuck Banning, The Day
Tim Bannon, Chicago Tribune
Deborah Barrington, USA Today 
Mike Bass, St. Paul Pioneer Press
Randy Beard, Evansville Courier & Press
John Bednarowski, Cherokee Tribune 
Darrin Beene, Tacoma News Tribune
Bill Bilinski, South Bend Tribune
Bob Blubaugh, Carroll County Times 
Louisa Boardman, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel 
John Bohnenkamp, Burlington Hawk Eye
John Boyette, The Augusta Chronicle
Ben Brigandi, Williamsport Sun-Gazette 
Jeff Brown, La Crosse Tribune
Kevin Brown, The Daily Herald
Greg Brownell, The Post-Star 
David Campbell, Cleveland Plain Dealer
Leon Carter,
Jonathan Comey, The Standard-Times
Mark Conley, San Jose Mercury News
Neil Corbett, The Citizens' Voice 
Frank Corsoe, The Toledo Blade 
Ray Cox, Atlanta Journal-Constitution 
Dave DeLand, St. Cloud Times
Steve DeShazo, The Free Lance-Star
John Devine, Miami Herald
Malcolm DeWitt, The Post and Courier
Don Doxsie, Quad-City Times
Mark Faller, The Arizona Republic
Tim Farkas, Berkshire Eagle
David Fawcett, News & Messenger
Arnold Feliciano, The Gainesville Sun 
Ron Fritz, Baltimore Sun 
Chet Fussman, Florida Times-Union 
Robert Gagliardi, Wyoming Tribune Eagle 
Bud Geracie, San Jose Mercury News 
Greg Gibson, Yahoo! Sports 
Lee Gordon, Chicago Tribune
Mat Graf Lexington, Herald-Leader
Mike Graham, Scripps Treasure Coast Newspapers 
Jay Greeson, Chattanooga Times Free Press
Wally Hall, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
Rusty Hampton, The Clarion-Ledger 
Andrew Hartsock, Lawrence Journal-World
Steve Hemphill, The Roanoke Times 
Roger Hensley, St. Louis Post-Dispatch 
Roy Hewitt, Cleveland Plain Dealer 
Bill Higgins, Cape Cod Times 
Mike Hiserman, Los Angeles Times 
Doug Jacobs, Tampa Tribune 
Rick Jaffe, Fox Sports 
Marty James, Napa Valley Register 
Mark Jaworski, The Journal Gazette 
Jeremiah Johnke, Wyoming Tribune-Eagle
Jon Johnson, Dothan Eagle 
Mike Kates, Chicago Tribune 
Mike Kellams, Chicago Tribune 
Tim Kirby, Lake City Reporter 
Jeff Kirk, Erie Times-News 
Jeff Krupsaw, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette 
Reid Laymance, Houston Chronicle 
Garry Leavell, The Dallas Morning News
Jim Lefko, Indianapolis Star
Mike Lefkow, Contra Costa Times
Thad Livingston, Omaha World-Herald
Ruben Luna, The Detroit News
Tom Maloney, The Globe and Mail 
Matt Martin, Erie Times-News
David McCollum, Log Cabin Democrat
Pat McLoone, Philadelphia Daily News
Bob Meseroll, Missoulian 
Gary Miles, The Philadelphia Inquirer
Scott Monserud, The Denver Post
Dave Morgan, USA TODAY Sports Media Group 
Nick Moschella, The Palm Beach Post
Gene Myers, Detroit Free Press
Scott Nulph, Laramie Boomerang
J.R. Ogden, The Gazette
Tom O'Toole, USA TODAY
Jeff Otterbein, Hartford Courant
Chris Otto, York Daily Record/Sunday News 
Joe Palmquist, Spokane Spokesman-Review
Matt Pepin, Boston Globe 
Michael Persinger, The Charlotte Observer 
Michael Peters, Tulsa World
Ed Petruska, Casa Grande Dispatch
Chuck Pollock, Olean Times Herald 
Scott Powers, Hartford Courant 
Mike Prater, Idaho Statesman 
Nick Pugliese, The Gazette 
Tom Quinlan, Daily Herald 
John Quinn, The Philadelphia Inquirer 
Bill Reader, The Seattle Times 
Ed Reed, The News-Press 
Jim Reeser, The Citizens' Voice
Gary Rogo, Connecticut Post 
Jorge Rojas, Miami Herald 
Jeff Rosen, Kansas City Star
Jim Rossow, The News-Gazette 
Steve Ruinsky, The News & Observer 
Dean Russin, The Daily Star 
Kirk Seminoff, Wichita Eagle
Don Shelton, The Seattle Times
Jack Sheppard, St. Petersburg Times
Daniel Shirley, The (Macon, Ga.) Telegraph
Gary Silvers, (Camden, N.J.) Courier-Post
Roger Simmons, Orlando Sentinel 
Sandy Smith, Concord Monitor
Jeff Smith, Hartford Courant 
Kevin Smith, Pittsburgh Tribune-Review 
Kevin Spain, USA TODAY Sports Group
Greg Sprout, Wisconsin State Journal
Mike Starkey, Cleveland Plain Dealer 
Anthony Stastny, Savannah Morning News 
Ray Stein, Columbus Dispatch
Tim Stephens,
Chris Stevens, Midland Daily News 
Joe Sullivan, Boston Globe 
Bob Sutton, Burlington Times-News 
Betty Szudlo, The Medina Gazette 
Doug Tatum, The Times-Picayune 
Dave Tepps, The Palm Beach Post 
Teri Thompson, New York Daily News 
Rich Tijerina, Austin American-Statesman 
Ken Tingley, The Post-Star 
Matt Traub, Press & Sun-Bulletin
Tim Trower, Mail Tribune 
Mike Vandermause, Green Bay Press-Gazette 
Paul Vigna, The Patriot-News 
David Wells, Connecticut Post 
Kirk Wessler, Peoria Journal Star 
David Williams, The Commercial Appeal 
Bill Windler, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel 
Eddie Wooten, News & Record 
David Wright, The Denver Post 
Brad Zimanek, Montgomery Advertiser