Nominations are now being accepted for the 2018 Red Smith Award. The award is presented to a person who has made “major contributions to sports journalism.”
The nomination process (and voting) is open to Red Smith Award winners, APSE past presidents, APSE national officers, 10-year APSE members and alumni members who belonged to APSE for at least 15 years.
If you did not receive an e-mail about the Red Smith Award and you believe you are eligible to nominate and vote, please contact Red Smith Award chair Jack Berninger at
Henry Freeman was last year’s winner, and the next five people in the voting were automatically nominated for this year’s award. They are Terry Taylor, Dick Young, George Vecsey, Bill Lyon and Stan Hochman.
Other 2017 nominees were Sandy Rosenbush, Sid Hartman, Sally Jenkins, Bryan Burwell, Leon Carter, Terry Pluto, John Feinstein, Tony Kornheiser, Tom Callahan, Kirk Bohls, Phil Jasner, Dan Shaughnessy and Rich Clarkson. They will have to be re-nominated in 2017.
Nominations will close Thursday, February 15. When making a nomination, please include biographical information advocating for the person.
Ballots will be sent out Monday, February 19. Biographical information will be included in that ballot for both the automatic nominees and new nominees. The deadline to vote is Sunday, March 4.
Send you nominations to
The timeline:
Feb. 15 — Nominations due
Feb. 19 — Ballots go out
March 4 — Voting deadline
March 5 – Winner announced


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here