Judging groups for 2016 APSE contest

Here are the judging groups for this year’s APSE Contest.
Included is an email contact for each judge.
Only the first category that each group will be judging is listed. As that category is completed and turned in, the chairs for the respective groups will be given their next category.
Note that some groups have a designated site in which to judge and some do not. The ones that do are judging sections. The ones that do not have sections to judge should meet up wherever it’s convenient, at the discretion of the chair.
Thanks to all who are here in Orlando to judge the 2016 contest, and good luck to all.
Jeff Rosen,
Contest chair
ON-SITE JUDGING GROUPS
Chair: Dave Ammenheuser, Tennessean: dammenheuser@gmail.com
Site: TBD
Chris Boghossian, Chicago Tribune: cjboghossian@gmail.com
Steve Wiseman, Durham Herald Sun: swiseman@heraldsun.com
Initial category: Projects Under 30,000
Chair: Erik Hall, Roanoke Times: hallerik7@gmail.com
Site: Eric Hall’s room
Ron Fritz, Baltimore: ron.t.fritz@gmail.com
Eric Hall, Beaver County Times: ehall@timesonline.com
Initial category: Sunday Sections Over 175,000
Chair: Kevin Bull, Detroit Free Press: kevinbull44@gmail.com
Site: Shauntel Lowe’s room
Tim Stephens, SportsManias: timwstephens33@gmail.com
Shauntel Lowe, Bleacher Report: shauntel.lowe@gmail.com
Initial category: Daily Sections 30,000-75,000
Chair: Jim Lefko, San Antonio Express-News: jblefko14@gmail.com
Site: Windermere room (2nd floor)
Josh Barnett, USA Today: jabarnett@usatoday.com
Initial category: Sunday Sections 30,000-75,000
Chair: Noreen Gillespie, AP: noreengconnolly@gmail.com
Site: Bay Lake room (2nd floor)
Bill Bootz, The Villages Media: billbootz@gmail.com
Ethan Joyce, Rocky Mount (N.C.) Telegram: johnethanjoyce@gmail.com
Initial category: Daily Sections 75,000-175,000
Chair: Gary Potosky, Philadelphia Inquirer: gpotosky@phillynews.com
Site: Joel Reichenberger’s room
Jane Havsy, Daily Record (Parsippany, N.J.): writerjane@gmail.com
Joel Reichenberger, Steamboat, Colo.: jreichenberger@steamboattoday.com
Initial category: Special Sections 75,000-175,000
Chair: Emily Horos, American (S.D.) News: ehoros@aberdeennews.com
Site: Tom Keegan’s room
Jim Luttrell, New York Times: luttrell@nytimes.com
Tom Keegan, Lawrence (KS) Journal World: tkeegan@ljworld.com
Barry Bedlan, AP: barrybedlan@gmail.com
Initial category: Sunday Sections 75,000-175,000
Chair: Jeff Maillet, Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel: jeffmaillet3@gmail.com
Site: Ratcliffe room (2nd floor)
Roxanna Scott, USA Today: rscottusat@gmail.com
Ted Kian, Oklahoma State University: tedkian58@gmail.com
Initial category: Daily Sections Over 175,000
Chair: Alex Iniguez, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette: alex.iniguez@gmail.com
Site: TBD
Paul Barrett, Seattle Times: paulbarrett66@gmail.com
Tom Quinlan, Daily Herald (Ill.): tom7quinlan@gmail.com
Initial category: Investigative
Chair: Mike Sherman, Tampa Bay Times, michael.o.sherman@gmail.com
Site: TBD
Hugh Kellenberger, Jackson Clarion Ledger, hughkellenberger@gmail.com
Joe Schiefelbein, Baton Rouge Advocate, schiefelbeinadvocate@gmail.com
Initial category: Features Over 175,000
Chair: Glen Crevier, Minneapolis Star-Tribune, Glen.Crevier@startribune.com
Site: Glen Crevier’s room
Jenny Dial Creech, Houston Chronicle, jenny.dial@chron.com
Daniel Paulling, unattached, daniel.paulling@gmail.com
Initial category: Sunday Sections Under 30,000
Chair: Joe Sullivan, Boston Globe: joseph.sullivan@globe.com
Site: TBD
Stef Loh, Seattle Times: stefanie.loh@gmail.com
Initial category: Features Under 30,000
Chair: Hank Winnicki, Newsday: hwinnicki@gmail.com
Site: Sarah Toland’s room
John Cherwa, L.A. Times: john.cherwa@latimes.com
Sarah Toland, Excelle: sarah@excellesports.com
Initial category: Special Sections Under 30,000
Chair: Mike Szvetitz, Richmond Times-Dispatch: mszvetitz@gmail.com
Site: Royal Palm room
Scott Thurston, Boston Globe: sthurston520@gmail.com
Mike Bass, Former Cinci, St. Paul SE: mabmabmab38@gmail.com
Initial category: Daily Sections Under 30,000
Chair: Dana Sulonen, Opelika-Auburn News: dsulonen@oanow.com
Site: Diana Nearhos’ room
Marcus Vanderberg, Yahoo: marcusvanderberg@gmail.com
Diana Nearhos, Glens Falls (N.Y.) Post-Star: dnearhos@gmail.com
Initial category: Special Sections Over 175,000
Chair: Michael Peters, Tulsa World, mgpeters2323@gmail.com
Site: TBD
Glenn Yoder, Washington Post, glenn.yoder@washpost.com
Justin Pelletier, Lewiston Sun Journal, jpelletier@sunjournal.com
Initial category: Projects Over 175,000
Chair: Scott Monserud, Denver Post, smonserud@denverpost.com
Site: Tony Maluso’s room
Burke Noel, Pennlive, burkenoel78@gmail.com
Tony Maluso, Dalton Daily Citizen, tmaluso.dcn@gmail.com
Initial category: Special sections 30,000-75,000
Chair: Chris White, Louisville Courier-Journal, freedomchips@gmail.com
Site: TBD
Mark Francescutti, Dallas Morning News, mfrancescutti@dallasnews.com
Nicole Saavedra, Athens Banner-Herald, nicole.saavedra@onlineathens.com
Initial category: Columns Over 175,000
Chair: Phil Kaplan, Knoxville News Sentinel, phil.kaplan@knoxnews.com
Site: TBD
Naila Jean Meyers, NY Times, njmeyers@nytimes.com
Chris Boan, Sahuarita Sun (Green Valley, AZ), cboan@gvnews.com
Initial category: Explanatory 30,000-75,000
Chair: Iliana Limon-Romero, Orlando Sentinel, iliana.limon@gmail.com
Site: TBD
Gerry Ahern, USA Today, gerryahern30@gmail.com
Nick Feely, The Villages Media, nickfeely8@gmail.com
Initial category: Features 75,000-175,000
Chair: John Turner, Golf Week, jturner@golfweek.com
Site: TBD
Jorge Rojas, Miami Herald, jrojas@miamiherald.com
Joe Baird, Salt Lake Tribune, jbaird@sltrib.com, Initial category: Columns 75,000-175,000
Bill Speros
Initial category: AP photo contest
No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.