APSE honored the best work of 2011 during its annual awards banquet, held Saturday in Chicago to conclude its 2012 Summer Conference. (Photo by Steph Langan)

CHICAGO — The Boston Globe, The New York Times, Omaha (Neb.) World-Herald and The Oklahoma of Okahoma City were "Grand Slam" honorees at the 2012 Associated Press Sports Editors awards banquet held Saturday.

APSE's "Grand Slam" is defined as earning national top-10 recognition for daily, Sunday and special print sections as well as top 10 website.

The awards ceremony honoring the top newspaper, digital and writing work produced by member organizations in 2011 wrapped up APSE's 2012 Summer Conference in Chicago.

Among writers, Matt Calkins of The Columbian (Vancouver, Wash.) was a three-time first-place winner. Calkins took top honors for beat writing, column writing and featuring writing in the 30,000-75,000 circulation division. In the over-175,000 class, Yahoo! Sports reporter Jeff Passon received first-place awards for beat writing and feature writing.

See the list of section/website winners here.

See the list of writing winners here.